Aegean Hawks F.C.

January 24th, 2010: DC/VA (MDCVSA) Amateur Cup Title Match
Hawks Back to Winning Ways, Repel ABGC La U 3-0 to Capture 4th Straight DC/VA Amateur Cup Title

Steady Possession-Oriented Attack Wears Down Opponent in Team Effort
(Annandale, VA - Mason District Park, 2:00 PM)

In a rematch of last year's final, the Hawks took on WPL league rivals ABGC/La U in an away fixture that would decide the 2010 MDCVSA Amateur Cup champion. ABGC/La U had bounced Atletico Virginia in the semifinals by a 3-1 margin and the Hawks had beaten Richmond side Partizan Premier 2-0 on the other side of the bracket to set up the championship match. The Aegean side was looking to capture their 4th straight DC/VA Amateur Cup championship, and continue defense of their 2009 national title. Most importantly, the Hawks were looking to show all who cared to pay attention that last weekend's loss to Atletico VA in the DC/VA Open Cup final was not to be repeated. Considering ABGC/La U's lopsided victory over Atletico VA in the semis, the Aegeans were prepared for a tough battle to reclaim their standing at the top of the amateur DC/VA soccer pyramid.

Both teams converged at Mason District Park in Annandale ready for battle and happy that the ominous storms that were predicted were kept at bay for the duration of the match. The field was fairly narrow, and with La U taking the field in a 3-5-2 configuration, the Hawks adjusted their formation to a 4-4-1-1 by inserting an extra defensive midfielder to help plug up the middle.

The Hawks struck first in the 15th minute when center mid Watson Prather lobbed a chip to striker Ricky Schramm at the top of the La U penalty area. Schramm deftly controlled the pass on his chest and layed off for a nice one-time smash by outside midfielder Erwin Diaz that left the La U keeper rooted and smacked the corner side netting for a 1-0 margin. Both teams had a few chances in the remainder of the half, but the score stood until the break.

The Hawks strengthened their lead in the 54th minute when Corey Curnutte drove a cross into the penalty area for outside midfielder William Fierro, who connected well on a crisp header to goal. La U's keeper could not hold on to the shot and Gift Mawoere swept in to knock in the rebound for the 2-0 Hawks lead. Play swung back and forth with the Hawks posession growing until Nate Adams settled a pass at the 18 and rifled another well placed finish into the La U net for the 3-0 final scoreline in the 78th minute. In all a complete effort that ensured the Hawks participation in the regional rounds for a fourth consecutive year and a chance to continue defense of their 2009 National title against the best teams in Region I. With the official Fall/Winter season complete, the Hawks will now focus on training and friendlies during February in preparation for an active March pre-season against local NCAA D1 and professional teams.       


Hawks Lineup:
GK: Alex Fatovic
Defense: Devlin Barnes (LB) (John Stephens - 80') , Nick McMorris (CB), Andrew Loia (CB), Corey Curnutte (RB)
Midfield: Erwin Diaz (LM) (Nate Burkey - 75'), Gift Mawoere (DCM), Alan Golden (DCM), Watson Prather (ACM)
Forward: Ricky Schramm (ST) (Titou Fierro - 45')
Subs Not Used: Jon Knight

Hawks MatchReport Archives


Erwin Diaz - 15'
Gift Mawoere - 54'
Nate Adams - 78'

Ricky Schramm - 15'
Titou Fierro - 54'
Nate Burkey - 78'

Alex Fatovic- 3

Andrew Loia

Honorable Mention
Devlin Barnes




© 2007 Aegean Hawks F.C. | e-mail: Design: